GilbertMakore's Blog

Why I will always fail at blogging

Posted on: September 29, 2011

failed blogger

It has nothing to do with the actual writing. Words come very easily to me. That part of the art, I have pretty much mastered. The problem with me and my blog is the fact that my life is not compartmentalized. This presents challenges when it comes to writing for a specific audience. What do I mean? I do not think of my work and personal interests as being completely separate. This makes it difficult for me to pen articles from one angle or for a specific audience.

I am involved in non profits, love politics, love social media, love tech, love politics, work on human rights, work on environmental issues, I farm, I love business and the list goes on and on. At any given time I will conceive of an interesting topic on any of the things in the preceding sentence. So a reader may stumble upon an interesting topic on non profits, come back the next day and they are confronted by a random post on farming pigs. So what readers get is a cocktail of sorts that represents a mash up of a personal blog/professional blog/how to blog/farming blog/business blog/political blog/mining blog. *Sigh*.

Bloggers, at least the successful ones, predominately focus on one subject and blog the hell out of that subject matter. I cannot and I do not think I will ever attempt to. The other option would be to establish blogs for all the major issues I’m interested in. But that would consign me to having to update, what….5 blogs or so. No thanks  Some bloggers are just good at tying varying interests into a coherent and cogent blog on one particular matter. I just cant . I guess in kindergarten that would make me the kid who always colored outside the circles.  So that my dear friends is why I have bumped up the static on failed bloggers. *Sigh* again :(. Meanwhile, I will continue making cocktails.

3 Responses to "Why I will always fail at blogging"

Go read any two posts from my blog. Any two. You will feel better about your blog, I promise. You have no need to focus on anything – I don’t even edit, or make corrections, or have a point or a coherent thought or write about anything that matters! And if you really want to focus a little bit, have three blogs and write about important things in one, silly things in another, and charitable or “other” things in the third. Another tip I can give is go read other people’s blogs and make comments on the ones you like. And then shamelessly rip them off! I’m just kidding. You don’t actually have to read the blog.

Lol. that helps. just went through your blog and the post ‘this post contains almost nothing useful about blogging’. Pretty interesting and funny

WOW – I am so good I never post my blog as I feel it is not polished enough.
I have sold my businesses and set up a non profit foundation called NPO Projects.org and our main function is to set up and spark enviromental and community projects. Our 2013 Portfolio is npoprojects.org funnily enough and we even have a private island we want to give away to Universities for a research center in the Komodo National Park.
It is really important for me to keep connected to the team I am building but it never gets done (pretty busy getting our foundations right at the moment and scared I will have to answer time consuming emails)

So I am just going to rave away – thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a comment